About the Senate

Faculty of Arts and Sciences Senate 2017/18 (meeting dates listed below)

Executive Council:
Chair: William Nordhaus, Economics and School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
Deputy Chair and Secretary: Jill Campbell, English Department

Members of the Executive Committee:
Shiri Goren, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations and the Modern Herbrew Program at Yale
Emily Erickson, Sociology Department
Matthew Jacobson, Department of African American Studies and Department of History
Maureen Long, Department of Geology & Geophysics
Rajit Manohar, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

The executive council calls meetings, determines the agenda of the FAS Senate, appoints committees to assist with the FASS’s work, and organizes elections in consultation with the elections and nominations committee. The executive council serves as liaison to the administration, and has the power to act on behalf of the Senate in matters arising between meetings. It also acts as the Senate’s by-laws committee, examining and reviewing Senate rules, procedures, and by-laws at least once per year, and recommending changes to the full Senate. The executive council meets approximately once per month, roughly two weeks in advance of Senate meetings, though may meet more often or at other times as necessary.

The executive council includes seven members of the FASS, six of whom are tenured faculty members (two from each of the three divisions) and one of whom is an untenured or non-ladder faculty member.

The chair of the executive council runs the meetings of the Senate and is an ex officio member of all the Senate’s committees. The secretary/deputy chair prepares minutes of meetings, made available in electronic form for all members of the FAS. If the chair is absent, the secretary/deputy chair assumes the duties of the chair. 

The 22 member elected Senate represents faculty from all ranks and divisions within the Faculty of Arts and Science at Yale. 2015-2016 marked the Senate’s inaugural year as the chief representative and voice for the Yale FAS. While many universities have maintained faculty senates for many decades, the FAS Senate is a new contribution to faculty governance at Yale. The Senate was created in order to provide a more organized voice for the FAS faculty, to highlight and investigate issues of FAS concern, and to foster greater communication between the members of the FAS and the Yale administration.

The 2013 and 2014 ad hoc committee reports recommending and establishing the FAS Senate are available below.”

FAS Faculty Input Committee

Report of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Senate Implementation Committee


Meeting dates for 2017/18

Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 4 PM in Crane Roon of Kirlkand Hall, 2 Hillhouse Avenue
Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 4 PM in HGS 105
Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 4 PM in HGS 105
No meeting scheduled in December
Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 4 PM in HGS 105
Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 4 PM in HGS 105
Thursday, March 29, 2018 at 4 PM in HGS 105
Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 4 PM in HGS 105
No meeting scheduled for May 2018