Welcome to the site of Yale’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences Senate. The 22 member elected Senate represents faculty from all ranks and divisions within the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Yale. 2015-2016 was the Senate’s inaugural year as the chief representative and voice for the Yale FAS.

a member of the FAS Senate from 2015 to 2020.

Charlie was among the inaugural Senators elected when the FASS was established, and those of us who have worked alongside him these past years came to love and admire him for his boundless good humor, his open-mindedness, his passion for equity and good university governance, his work ethic, and his commitment to the Senate and to Yale.  At our meeting of August 20 the FASS held an informal memorial in his honor, and several Senators spoke of their fondness for him—their warm memories of his generosity and his kindness, and also of his hard-headed willingness to fight the good fight when needed.  His loss is devastating to us.  On a personal note I will also add, if you happened to be—like me—a humanist with no fluency in his field, it was almost shocking to discover what a big deal he was in the STEM world, because he was so humble, so down to earth, so accessible, and so grounded in an ethic of egalitarianism and decency.  No diva, Charlie.  We miss him sorely already.” ~ Matthew Frye Jacobson, FAS Senate Chair

                                               2020/21 FAS Senate Meeting Schedule

In the News

August 5, 2020
The Faculty of Arts and Sciences Senate (FASS) sponsored a Forum focused on the COVID Crisis on July 30, 2020. You may see the VIDEO by clicking here; you may read the CHAT...
July 10, 2020
The FAS Senate is pleased to announce the newly-elected Chair, Deputy Chair and slate of senators for 2020-2022: Newly-elected senators are: David Bercovici, Department of...
June 12, 2020
The Yale Faculty of Arts and Science Senate (FASS) has issued three reports as it envisions what future decisions will need to be made as Yale moves forward in dealing with...